27 Hours Later

Truthfully, I registered for “The Art of the Press” because it seemed interesting enough, it wasn’t math or science and it offered 2 credits. To my surprise, the amount of knowledge and experience that I took away from this class is incomparable to anything that I expected from a two-week course. I may even say that this class was more worthwhile than some of the regular courses I took in the past semester.

There are so many new ideas and information that I took away from this class that it’s incredibly difficult to pick a particular “thing”. On the first day of class, I got to look through some of the old texts and books that illustrated the history of paper and print making. We also powered through the history of calligraphy through the “4000 years of history in 40 minutes” presentation—a topic that triggered my interest, but also a topic that I never would’ve considered had I not taken this class.

Newspaper Advertising Typography. Peabody Conservatory Library. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn.

Newspaper Advertising Typography. Peabody Conservatory Library. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn.

Through this class, I got to go to the Baltimore Museum of Industry—a place I probably would not have gone on my own account. At the museum, I got the experience of actually using the linotype and making an iron mold of my name. We also went to the Peabody Library, which was absolutely beautiful.

Baltimore Museum of Industry. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn

Baltimore Museum of Industry. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn

Peabody Conservatory Library. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn.

Peabody Conservatory Library. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn.

If I had to choose the most important thing I did in this class, it would have to be the hands-on experience at MICA. This experience was definitely one of a kind. Smearing the ink on the rollers, proof reading and even the frustrating process of switching the tiny letters so that each letter aligned perfectly were all part of the unforgettable experience. Learning about the Globe style printing and making our own was definitely something that I will remember.

Bred In Baltimore letter pressed printed. MICA. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn.

Bred In Baltimore letter pressed printed. MICA. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn.

Globe printing. MICA. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn.

Globe printing. MICA. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn.

Letter Press Printing. MICA. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn.

Letter Press Printing. MICA. Photographed by Jeeyeon Sohn.

I am beyond glad that I took this course. Apart from the credits and merely seeming different from all the “sciencey” and “mathy” classes at Hopkins, this course is a meaningful course of its own. I would definitely recommend it to everyone at Hopkins, and I hope that everyone gets to take it, because this experience is too special and worthwhile to be kept hidden.

27 hours later, I walk away with unforgettable experiences, few posters, new friends and mentors and some bragging rights.

Leave a Reply

